Moved, but not moved in

With any luck, this is the last time in my life I will have to do this. I think there are very few things that I hate as much as moving–both the packing and the unpacking. It’s far more work than I thought to smoosh a two-bedroom apartment into a four-bedroom house. Part of it is who I am. Both residences had fully equipped kitchens. And part of it is Ben, my other half. He never met a piece of furniture more than twenty years old that he didn’t like immediately. So now we’re in the unpack, shift stuff around, decide what’s really necessary mode. But once it’s done, it’s done.

But there are the breaks. . .This week alone, a great blue heron flew by my deck so close I could see its eye watching me. A bald eagle, equally close, displayed its deadly beak in warning. And a downy woodpecker spent most of the week building a nest about 30 feet from the back porch. She looked at us each time we came out, but since we didn’t threaten, she went right on pecking her hole and spitting the wood chips out. I’ve never seen that before. And today, there were two 4-foot long salmon in the gravel bar below the orchard. We’ve had more than and inch and a half of rain in the last 24 hours, so the salmon will be humping it up the river soon.

I’ve reconnected with several of my writer friends on the coast, and I’m starting to get really excited about being here. I know the moving part doesn’t last forever. . .

Enough for tonight. I know I promised to talk about the farm, and I will, but for now, I’m tired, and the stairs are still covered with stuff that has to be moved up before bedtime in case the house catches fire. Always leave your exits open.

Ciao,

Marianne

3 Responses to “Moved, but not moved in”

  1. Josh Bancroft Says:

    Wow! How cool would it be to see all that wildlife up close! It’s the weirdest thing, being a geek and all, but I love sitting on our back porch and watching birds.

    Keep updating the blog – we’re out here listening! 🙂

  2. Brent Says:

    Good to hear from you… nice deep sentiment in that last line
    🙂

  3. Marianne Says:

    Hi guys, how nice to hear from you.

    Brent, that last sentiment is very important. It’s stood me in good stead for lots of decades. It’s kind of like making sure your gun is loaded and the firewood is dry, those sorts of things.

    Josh, I’ve considered myself a bit of a geek for a couple of decades now, although I think it’s largely in name only. I’m really interested in technology, but I’m not as knowledgable as I should be for someone who’s been in technology since 1966 in some way, shape, or form. But I also have to confess that what I’m really interested in is the effect of technology on people’s lives–our communities, our social networks, and so on.

    And to echo your sentiment, nothing that happens virtually is quite as stunning as the real birds, the deer and elk, the salmon spawning, the steelhead flashing upriver, the crazy rabbits, the coyotes that love to scare you to death if you get too close, and the unearthly howl of a mountain lion or the grunt of a satisfied bear who’s busy scratching himself on your house.

    As you can probably tell, I really like it out here.

Leave a Reply

