Garlic, onions, and olive oil

Tonight’s post is about food, so if you’re hungry, you might want to either go get something to eat or go read another post.

 I honestly think I could saute a small quantity of chopped onions and garlic in olive oil, add a can of dog food, and Ben would say, “Wonderful!” He’s admitted as much. There’s something about the smell of garlic, onions, and olive oil in a cast-iron pan over a hot fire that almost makes whatever else you add irrelevant. But I’ve never put that to the test.

Something this morning started me reflecting on an old Julia Child bread recipe that I haven’t made in years. I pulled out the three volumes of my clipping collection and found it. It’s truly a recipe for unemployed folks–there are three “resting” periods in the making of this bread, down time, dead time, in which you can do nothing except wait, read the latest magazine to arrive, periodically stoke the fire to make sure the room and the oven don’t get too cold, and so on. It takes about 8 hours, but for 6.75 of them you are doing nothing except waiting.

Bottom line: I made the bread today, and it was even more wonderful than I remember. Just flour, salt, yeast, and water, and all of that waiting and punching and kneading and so forth. While all of that was going on, I browned some onions and garlic in olive oil, added a little leftover roast beef from last night’s French dip, simmered the whole mix in bouillon and diced tomates until tender, threw in some barley, added some fresh carrots, some canned beans, some leftover garlic-roasted potatoes chopped up, then the secret ingreadient (a pinch of summer savory) and voila!–dinner. Vegetable soup with hot bread.

Why am I writing about this? I have no idea. But dinner was great, and I suppose I just wanted to share it.

One Response to “Garlic, onions, and olive oil”

  1. Nathan Zeldes Says:

    Oh yes… nothing can beat good virgin olive oil (if you’re too lazy or incompetent to cook with it, like me, it’s sufficient to just dip good sourdough bread in it and add salt). And it’s healthy to boot, contrary to the puritan axiom that what’s tasty is bad for you.

    Heavenly!

Leave a Reply

