New Year’s Eve

I was a slug not to post a message last night, but Chris and Susan came out from town to stay, and we had a wonderful afternoon and evening of conversation, a poetry reading, and a toast to the new year.

I haven’t drunk chanpagne in years, I think. It generally gives me a headache far out of proportion to any medicinal or social benefits. But they brought a wonderful bottle of sparkling wine from Australia–Shingleback’s Black Bubbles Sparkling Shiraz. I recommend it highly–wonderful flavor, gentle on the head (even after more than one glass).

Today has been a quiet day, and I’m grateful. I finished both the NY Times Sunday puzzle and even whipped the diagramless crossword.

Leave a Reply

