Software, blogs, and the perils of moving

I actaully had something else entirely planned to write about tonight, but I was so excited to find questions about my wonderful stove in the comments to my last post that I’ve totally forgotten what it was.

Today was very productive. I found a whole bunch of stuff that’s been missing since I moved. Right before I left Portland, my hard drive died, and my computer has never been the same. My e-mail contacts all disappeared. This might have been a greater tragedy, except that I printed them right before this happened. But they’ve been buried in the monster pile of unsorted paper I shoved into bags and backpacks. I found them today, as well as the copy of MS Office I was missing, my OneNote, and other assorted things that just vanished in my migration.

So although I couldn’t send out my holiday greetings, had no idea how to reach some people I really care about, and other stuff, my computer is now more or less up to date, and as soon as I get back from my about to happen wanderings, I’ll do something more.

No snow yet, thank goodness, for which I’m very grateful. I’m off tomorrow to have brunch with an old friend I haven’t seen for about three years, then drive with her up to Lincoln City for a marvelous writing workshop and reading from Oregon’s new Poet Laureate, Lawson Inada. Tomorrow I’ll be headed for Seaside, where my MFA program has invited me to be a guest emcee for some of the featured evening readings. If I’m offline for a day or two, I haven’t disappeared, I’m just traveling, and I don’t think I’m even going to take my notebook.

We had an inch and a half of rain last night, so we’re still averaging more than an inch a day this year. The fir trees love it.

Leave a Reply

