Something else I would rather not be writing about

I’ve been avoiding this space, I guess, because what’s on my mind is something I really don’t want to think about. But there’s no help for it. Perhaps if I write about it, it will help.

I went to Salem yesterday to do some banking, and I stopped by to see my youngest brother. We are the two oddballs in the family, the Aquarians, out of step most of the time with the rest of the world.

He’s quite a bit younger than I am, and one of my favorite people in the whole world. But for 20 years he’s been busy making medical history, and not in a good way. Nearly two decades ago, he had some problems with the vision in one eye, and his doctors discovered a tumor behind the eye. They operated an removed the tumor. But it just keeps coming back.

It is, they keep telling him, not cancerous. I’m not sure I understand this. According to my reading, the definition of cancerous cells is “cells that don’t know when to stop growing,” and his tumor certainly fits that description. It’s been treated by various surgeries, intense radiation therapy, and assorted means. It just keeps coming back. Now it’s growing into his brain, causing intense headaches and other dreadful experiences. They’ve removed what of it that they can remove surgically. It’s growing back.

Any more traditional radiation carries with it a strong risk of total blindness. He’s not willing to gamble on that, because the previous radiation had little impact. But there’s a new type of laser photon radiation. It’s done in only three hospitals in the U.S. (the machine apparently costs about $200 million). We’re waiting to hear if one of them will accept him for treatment.

He’s been treated to date at Oregon’s premiere research hospital. His doctors there tell him they’ve never seen tumors like the ones he has. He now has two different types of “non-cancerous” unidentified tumors. It’s frankly just crap.

So that’s what’s on my mind at the moment, and if I haven’t rushed to write in my blog, the truth is I just haven’t felt like it.

2 Responses to “Something else I would rather not be writing about”

  1. Josh Bancroft Says:

    I’m sorry to hear about that – I can’t imagine how frustrating and scary that must be, for all of you. I’m hoping that they’re able to accept him for the new treatment, and that they’re able to help him without affecting his vision. Good luck! šŸ™‚

  2. mklekacz Says:

    Thanks, Josh (that happen’s to be Tom’s oldest son’s name, too). It frankly just sucks. I really hate things I can’t do anything constructive about, and this is one of them.

Leave a Reply

