It’s definitely spring–the owls are mating

I think I’ve mentioned the spotted owls singles’ bar above our house before. Well, it’s definitely spring, and the spotted owls are hooting again. We’ve heard them the last few evenings, but tonight they have moved across the road to the neighbors’ stand of trees. However–

I think the reason they moved is a great one. Tonight there is a great horned owl (GHO)¬†calling in the trees not far from our house. As nearly as we can determine, he’s in about the same location as the last place a GHO nested on our property–on the trail to the spring where it could scare the c— out of Ben when he went up to check the water.

These are BIRDS. They’re about two feet tall with a very wide wingspread. They wait in their nests until you’re right under them and then flap out through the forest like a freight train or a bear in the brush. You have to stop and let your heart rate return to something resembling normal before continuing up the trail.

Their call is almost the reverse of the spotted owl’s call. It’s a “hoo, hoo-hoo, hoo, hoo” in a sort of baritone. Very lovely. And we’re very glad to have one back. We haven’t heard them for several years now.

The birds are the best music of all. This morning I heard a whole slew of never-heard-before calls. It made my day.

There are pink somethings coming up in my little flower bed. I have no idea what they are. Ben says he thinks they’re blackberries. I hope not, because I actually replanted one I dug up when I was weeding. I think they actually may be something I planted years ago, but I have no idea what. I’ll let you know if I ever figure it out. In the meantime, the first tulips are popping through, and I think the first daffodils will bloom within a week. The hellebores (Lenten roses) are blooming already. Seems very early, but I guess technically Lent is upon us.

I’m getting ready to go cook a risotto. I’ve got a whole bunch of leftovers that need to be used, including some wonderful slices of roast pork with picatta sauce that I think will serve very well. And I can bring the thing to a boil and set it on the living room stove to finish while I toss a salad. Yum-m-m-m.

Now off to dinner and another installment of my geology DVDs. I spent some time today reading about the earth and its beginnings. There is a poem here. I know it. I’ll find it.

2 Responses to “It’s definitely spring–the owls are mating”

  1. ombudsben Says:

    What a nice post, I envy you your owls. A long time ago I used to hear a barred owl in the quiet of winter woods. Only saw him once — so quiet, sweeping across a roadway in front of us.

    No doubt those spotted owls would move away. GHOs are known to raid the nests of other owls. It’s only nature taking its course, I know. But still, I wish they’d stick to rodents.

  2. mklekacz Says:

    I love the owls, too, but I got really mad at a barn owl that invaded our shop carport and ate all the baby swallows one year. I wish they’d stick to rodents, too. God knows we have enough of those that I wouldn’t miss a bit. ;^}

Leave a Reply

