Poetry on the Big Elk

I met this very cool salamander today. The reason I thought he was cool was that he was clearly focused on achieving a particular purpose. I have no idea what it was.

I stepped outside this morning to go see what was happening in my flower beds. A flash of movement caught my eye, and I saw this little animal moving in the bed closest to the house. He was reddish brown on top and sort of a pinkish-orange underneath.

He stopped when he felt me move. Then he started off again.

The salamander was only about 6 inches long, from the tip of his nose to the tip of his tail. His legs were only a little over an inch long. But, although he hesitated to see if perhaps I was a predator, when he decided I wasn’t, he moved off with such determination that I couldn’t help but admire him.

His legs moved nearly two inches with each step, as he could rotate them nearly 180 degrees. He was moving in a pretty straight line, but not particularly fast. He stepped from the flower bed into the driveway, and I was worried. Ralph was due back from town. What if he came zipping through in the Ram Charger and ran over the little guy? So I stood in the driveway until he was safely across.

I wanted to know where he was going with such fierce seriousness.

I wish I knew where I was going. . .

2 Responses to “Poetry on the Big Elk”

  1. Gorilla Guys Says:

    I love it. Great blog Marianne. I LOVE finding new lunchtime reads…..you’re booked lady.

  2. mklekacz Says:

    Terrific, GG, and welcome to my strange world.

Leave a Reply

