If this post makes you think, it was worth writing

This is a very different entry than I had planned to write. I was going to tell you that the bean soup and bread were terrific, that the hummingbird came back tonight for his dinner in my newly replenished feeder, and that all in all, it was a great day. All of that is true.

But I went out on the deck and had a cigarette first, and I started thinking about the blog entries I had just cruised. Existentialism is in the air tonight. Who am I to argue with this?

Rabbit is having a crisis of confidence, I think. This is healthy, although if you’re on the receiving end, it can also be very scary.

Heath wrote about one of those dreadful life-support stories, causing his readers to speculate on “pulling the plug.” If you want to know what I think about these, open the links. I commented on both.

I subscribe to a number of rather focused publications. The folks at the Skeptical Inquirer seem to be terrified that someone might believe in God or the supernatural. The folks at The Economist seem to think that if only everyone knew enough about what was going on, the world could be saved. The folks at The New Yorker would grant us all the grace of good literature and thoughtfulness. The editors of the Newport News-Times couldn’t even be bothered this week to tell me why every cop in Newport was screaming north on Hwy. 101 with sirens blaring at about 3:30 on Tuesday, although there were a fair amount of stories about people recognized for interesting sorts of things and new restaurants opening.

I don’t take any of them very seriously.

Here is what I know: Nothing.

Here is what I believe: There is more to know than we poor humans are ever capable of knowing. That doesn’t mean we should quit trying to find out. But we should have the grace to understand that even our best efforts at knowing are just that–our best efforts.

I also believe, despite the best that the anti-spiritual scientists can propose and demonstrate, that there is far more to a human being than flesh and blood. I haven’t a clue what that “far more” is. My father, after rejecting many previous hypotheses, speculated that “out there” somewhere, there was a huge glob of “something”–call it intelligence, consciousness, soul-stalks, or whatever. When we are born, we get a piece of the glob. When we die, whatever globness we had returns. That seems to me as good a thesis as any.

Life is for the living, and living it is the best way to show your gratitude. Someone once said, “That which doesn’t kill you will make you stronger” (although I have to admit that right now the only person I can think of who actually said that was Leslie Nielsen in an incredible slapstick video called “Bad Golf My Way”). It’s a philosophy I agree with.

So quit reading blogs and go do something useful.

But come back here and visit me once in awhile.

10 Responses to “If this post makes you think, it was worth writing”

  1. Steve Says:

    You raise some intersting points.

    I’ll try to come back, if I can fimnd you again!

  2. mklekacz Says:

    You’ll be welcome anytime, Steve. Thanks for visiting.

  3. Iris Weaver Says:

    Thank for making this valuable information available to the public.

  4. wildiris Says:

    Oh my gosh. You’re in Newport. I’ve been trying for the past four years to convince my husband we should move to that region.

    What a great post. I feel much the same way about life support, and I like your dad’s globness philosophy. It’s a fine basic premise for belief and can even stand on its own quite well.

    As for those who are so worried about some of us believing in God, Goddess, or any higher power — I don’t understand evangelism, most especially evangelical atheism or skepticism. To be so concerned about whether others believe, or whether something can be proven to be “out there” doesn’t make sense to me. I’m surprised some of the more extreme skeptics are ever convinced by any amount of scientific evidence . . . of anything, including their own experiences. It’s a form of nihilism. But they’re free to not believe as long as they don’t try to tell me what I should not believe.

    And I don’t know anything either. 😉

  5. mklekacz Says:

    Hi, wild iris,. I’m not really in Newport, that’s just mostly where I do my day-to-day shopping. We’re really in a valley that runs off the west slope of Mary’s Peak (the tallest mountain in the Coast Range). We’re off most of the grids, deliberately. It’s a wonderful place full of outlaws and misfits. I fit right in.

    I love reading the skeptics. They go to such great lengths to convince themselves of nothing. It seems to me much more sane to just go with the flow and see what happens.

  6. journeyintosoul Says:

    Ah, keep embracing your awareness! In truth, what is there to know? Nothing! We can learn so much from Nature. Ask this: what does a tree, need to know? A bird, an insect, a fish, a stone, water, snow….? Nothing… those expressions are simply in the moment and being.
    And more of us will come to this realization and awareness. It will simplify living a life beyond measure.
    It’s a delight to read your postings.

  7. mklekacz Says:

    Thanks, Imaya. All of these things need to know the same things I need to know–the warmth of the sun, the moisture of a soft rain, and the quiet of darkness.

    If you get bored reading my simple stuff, go read Walden again.

  8. ombudsben Says:

    Marianne, I’m still having a little trouble placing you. Familiar with the coast range and Hwy 101, but both go a long way up the coast.

    Does Newport mean Newport Beach, Orange county? Your valley sounds very nice. Are the hummingbirds Anna’s?

  9. mklekacz Says:

    I’m in Oregon, actually, in a valley between Corvallis and Newport. I lived in SF and Marin for about 15 years, so I’m probably more familiar with your area than you are with mine.

    We have a mix of the hummers, including some little green ones whose name escapes my right now and the rufous (ruby-throated) ones. The rufous ones are incredibly territorial. The first one of those hasn’t arrived yet, but when it does, the back deck hummingbird wars will start.

  10. ombudsben Says:

    We mostly get Anna’s and Costa’s around here, I believe. I grew up with ruby-throated, in Minnesota.

    Have you ever noticed how little dogs can be so feisty and big dogs calm while the little ones yap?

    Hummers remind me of that feistiness.

Leave a Reply

