The way I live now

The thumping silence echoing back from my posts on globalization, global warming, and democracy in  America makes it very hard to continue on with this. This brings on a certain tristesse. My daughter says I’m far too pessimistic. I say she’s looking at far too small a picture. But it time to change horses, at least for the moment.

 Here are a couple more pictures from our place that I thought you might enjoy. As always, click on the thumbnail to see the real thing.

This is a picture of Big Creek, my favorite spot on the place. It’s about halfway from our house to our gate.

big-creek.jpg

On the lower left you’ll see the lovely stone bench mother nature brought me a couple of years ago, dropping the seat and the back rest into the middle of the creek. The moss that now covers them just makes them more comfortable to sit on and write.

When I went off to write on Tuesday, this sign greeted me at Big Creek:

sign.jpg

Now, no one in this household is given to stealing highway signs, but occasionally they fall from assorted trucks and are left in the middle of the road. There’s no good alternative except to pick it up and get it out of the way. I thought the guys found a good use for this one.

Of course, you need to know that just above the creek in the previous picture is a whole swath of truly gorgeous trilliums cascading down the rock wall. I tried to take a picture of them, but I screwed it up. Another time, I guess.

7 Responses to “The way I live now”

  1. Brent Says:

    I don’t understand… why is the silence making it hard to continue on with this, and continue on with what exactly? Also, did you consider that maybe we agreed with you and had nothing to add? Or that maybe we are all just lazy? 🙂

  2. mklekacz Says:

    Brent, the purpose of a salon is to get folks to talk about/ argue/discuss those things that affect them. So I suppose I equate silence with boredom. But I will post something about Toqueville soon, if not tonight, then tomorrow after my brush cutting adventure up Shot Pounch Creek.

  3. ombudsben Says:

    Marianne, let me know when you are back. I have a follow up to the A A Fair, Earle Stanley Gardner comment you once posted on my site.

  4. mklekacz Says:

    I’m back, so post away.

  5. ombudsben Says:

    I’ve been reading “Raymond Chandler Speaks” lately, a collection of excerpts from his letters and essays.

    He carried on quite a conversation with Earle Stanley Gardner about what defines mystery writing and what makes it good.

    Gardner’s name was nagging at the back of my head. ‘Someone has been recommending this guy to me. Who was it?’

    Then I ran across your comment to me again.

    If you have interest, I’ll post some of it. Good writers discussing the craft can reward in lots of directions, I find.

    When you have time/energy/inclination, let us know how Beantown was.

  6. Philip Ferris Says:

    I’m interested in what Raymond Chandler has to say ombudsben.

    Glad to know you’re back safe Marianne, I hope it all went as well as it could do.

    Thanks

    phil

  7. mklekacz Says:

    Ben, I’d love to see this. Please post away.

Leave a Reply

