A bad year for the neocons. . .

A couple of years ago an acquaintance of mine whose political leanings are far, far to the left of mine (I don’t discriminate against people for their political beliefs–I have so few it seems silly) pointed me at a Web site for the “Project for a New American Century.”

When I got over the arrogance of it (what are these people smoking, anyway?), I frankly just sort of blew it off. It seemed like total idiocy to be spouting a “new American century” in a world becoming “globalized” at lightning speed. There is no longer any place for jingoism. We can only hope that humanism (people for people, regardless) gets a fair hearing.

If you look at the folks who signed the statement of principles on this Web site, you’ll find the names Scooter Libby (although he’s identified as I. Lewis Libby, apparently to give the weight of seriousness to his participation), Donald Rumsfeld, Paul Wolfowitz, and Dick Cheney. “You can fool some of the people some of the time. . .”

I actually feel a little sorry for George W. Bush. He is a dumb little banty rooster of a boy who is so far out of his league that it is laughable. And he picked the wrong companions, a circumstance that has done in others a lot smarter than he is.

16 Responses to “A bad year for the neocons. . .”

  1. whig Says:

    They didn’t really fool anyone who didn’t want to be fooled, I think. They said what they intended to do, they just needed a “new Pearl Harbor” to justify it. They got their new Pearl Harbor…

    And never did a criminal investigation commence.

  2. mklekacz Says:

    I know, Whig, that’s part of the reason I try to avoid political postings. I just did this one so the FBI would start monitoring my blog and boost my readership. . .

  3. ombudsben Says:

    LOL, M.
    Just be sure they don’t crack your password. Once they’re logged in, it doesn’t add to views. =8@

  4. mklekacz Says:

    I’ll change it immediately. A reader is a reader, after all.

  5. whig Says:

    At the moment my own stats seem to have vanished, and my widgets are malfunctioning. I should presume upgrades are being performed. It will certainly mess up my Sitemeter totals for the month, but oh well.

  6. MoskerVenice Says:

    I just visited the website. Any of your friends some combination of physicists/astronomers/geologists. I’m damn curious how the axes of Earth’s rotation would change if the southern hemisphere was proportionally sized to its importance according to the website.

    Something like a top maybe? Shouldn’t have left gaming….I might have access to the toys needed to animate it easily.

  7. mklekacz Says:

    Whig, are you sure the FBI didn’t steal them?

    Dave, the short answer to the first question is, “Yes, all of the above.” I don’t have an answer to the second. Maybe we should consider ourselves fortunate that there are no global issues in Latin America, India, and Africa.

  8. mklekacz Says:

    Arghghghgh (or something). There was supposed to be an “end sarcasm tag” after the last comment, but since the system didn’t recognize it, it ate it. Bad system, bad, bad system.

  9. Barbara Says:

    I just visited the site. It’s such a relief to know someone has all the answers and can tell us exactly how to live so we never need to worry about anything again. 😛 (I hope you know I’m kidding.)

  10. whig Says:

    If the FBI stole them, they were somehow involved in monkeying with the WordPress servers in a way that affected many people. Which would probably not be cool with the WordPress administrators, at all. So I go for the more parsimonious explanation that they were doing some upgrade or maintenance themselves.

  11. mklekacz Says:

    Barbara, that retching sound you hear in the background is me. But I am feeling a little guilty about the number of folks that have dropped me a note to say they visited the site. Maybe it should have dies quietly in obscurity. Or maybe not. . .

    Whig, I’m very disappointed in your paranoia level. If you were the FBI and wanted to steal someone’s stats, would you just target that person? Or would you make it look like lots of people were affected, ala a system upgrade? Think about it. . .

  12. whig Says:

    I’m sure they can see more of my stats than I do.

    And?

  13. whig Says:

    Contrary to popular belief, cannabis does not cause paranoia. It does cause people who are prone to paranoia ordinarily to become more aware of it, and brings anxieties to the surface, which allows them to be dealt with as far as I’m concerned. Burying your fears does not make them go away.

  14. mklekacz Says:

    I think I’m going to have to tone down my joking around. It clearly gets too often misinterpreted.

    Whig, I have no strong feelings about cannabis one way or the other except this–it’s not for me. The paranoia thing was meant to be playful, not a reference to anything you have written here or elsewhere. I love the idea that the FBI might be spying on some of this stuff instead of doing something productive–shades of Hippolytus Brandenberg. I hope you were able to find that book. It’s written only half in jest, but the half that’s in jest is very funny. The rest is heartbreaking.

  15. whig Says:

    I enjoy the fact that I assume the FBI does watch and I only increase the chances that they will do so when I mention things like cannabis.

    They have filtering software to look for terms that might connote something interesting, and I would be very surprised if it isn’t on there. So I’m figuring there’s some person that reads whatever I write, maybe, or maybe not, and it just means I have a potential audience. I don’t care if it’s true or not, because I have a genuine audience on my blog anyhow, as do you on yours, and all the attention in the world is welcome on what we write here, is it not?

  16. mklekacz Says:

    Yup, I’ll just keep putting it out there and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

