Another day, another $.50, blah, blah

Elsewhere, Rabbit has written aabout the difficulty of writing in a blog when you don’t feel like you have anything to say. But she is determined to write anyway, and I applaud that.

So I’ll try to emulate her example even though I still don’t have anything remarkable (or perhaps even worth remarking on) to say.

My daughter is out visiting this weekend, so I’ve actually had a rather enjoyable day. We listened today to “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me,” my favorite NPR show, and are still laughing tonight over dinner at one of the new stories.

A group of kindergarten children in California were completely traumatized, to the point that they went home and told their parents, by an old weird man with a guitar who came to their school and sang really scary songs. The story: Bob Dylan decided to entertain his grandson’s kindergarten class. Presumably the teacher was old enough to be a Dylan fan and acquiesced. This was the result.

Today I planted onions and beans to join the rest of the crops already there. I’m fighting with my in-house starts–squash, cukes, and melons, for the most part. I picked up a seed packet a week or so ago to read it and almost fell on the floor laughing. When I could talk again, I read it to Ben: “Plant a week after the last frost, when soil temperature reaches 70 degrees.” Here in the Northwest, soil temperature reaches 70 degress about 4 months after the last frost, so clearly alternative methods are called for.

I don’t yet have a greenhouse, so I start these things on my kitchen counter. From a temperature standpoint, it works pretty well, but my kithcen has limited daylight, so as soon as the seeds sprout, they start getting really leggy and I have to move them outside where even when the weather is clear the temperatures aren’t what one would want. I’ll be able to give you a better report on success in a couple of months.

Today we made apricot scones and bacon for breakfast, catch-as-catch-can lunch, and  grilled fresh halibut with steamed broccoli and garlic mashed potatoes for dinner. It was actually pretty yummy.

The current New Yorker magazine has a terrific profile of Barack Obama. Despite my apoliticism, this young man has appeal for me. I’ve seen him in live TV appearances a couple of times, and I’ve always come away impressed. He reminds me a little of JFK, and for a lot of the same reasons–an outsider, limited experience, a member of the “other” (people have forgotten what a big deal it was that Kennedy was Catholic), and seemingly infinitely calm and sane.

It’s hard to say what Kennedy would have left as a legacy had he survived. I don’t really understand why anyone would want to be president of this country. It seems to age everyone who serves at an incredible rate. But Obama’s reason seems as good as any–he thinks he has something “special” to offer. 

OK, I’ve done my $.50 worth for today.

5 Responses to “Another day, another $.50, blah, blah”

  1. whitishrabbit Says:

    Good for you, writing. I totally dropped the ball. That Dylan story made me laaaugh, I can just imagine.

    Obama does seem like good stuff. One of these days I’m going to sit down and really find out how he’s voted, and what his stance on the major issues are. I know he’s liberal leaning, but I’ve yet to take a close examination at the candidates. It’s hard to get excited over the smear-and-pontificate cycle of a presidential election just yet.

  2. ombudsben Says:

    My grandmother told my folks in ’60 that she did not want JFK as president. She was afraid of having a president obedient to the Vatican. She feared the Pope dictating policy.

    Mrs. Ombud tonight, at dinner, ionformed us she is giving up on growing her own beets. She planted them last winter and the tops have grown fine, but the roots never got fat and bulby.

    She said she was adding it to the list of things that don’t grow in our garden: green onions, bell peppers, etc. And now beets.

    I’m not completely sure why, as she likes the greens. Claims that, cooked, the taste like spinach.

  3. Lisa Hostick Says:

    OMG…..beet greens are wonderful and sweet!

  4. mklekacz Says:

    Rabbit, I’m with you about not being ready for an 18 month election cycle. I think one of the reasons I’ve been impressed with Obama is that he doesn’t feel like a politician.

    Ben, that sounds like what’s going on with Romney, according to the news this morning. My beets grow well, too well, probably, since I’m about the only person I know who really likes them. My Ben will taste them only because he once made a rash promise to eat anything I grew in the garden.

    Lisa, when it’s harvest time, you’ll have to either explain how to cook the greens to keep them sweet or come do it for me. I’ve never tried them.

  5. Lisa Hostick Says:

    It’s the “red part” of the leaf that lends its sweetness. No salt….just par boil and eat.
    As a child, I thought beets were disgusting..blah! Choked them down with milk.
    My tastes have indeed changed, as an adult, and I sometimes enjoy their “earthy” taste.

Leave a Reply

