What the heck?

OK, I know I’ve already posted today, but this is bugging me.

Is there anyone else out there who finds it moderately bizarre that the top blog on WordPress this week (for basically a full week) has a been a site that is apparently devoted strictly to stupid cat videos?

I know it’s not polite to take pot-shots at other people’s efforts, but one of the things that really appealed to me about blogging was the opportunity for idea exchange. Kitsch I can find almost anywhere.

11 Responses to “What the heck?”

  1. ombudsben Says:

    When I think of American media, print, radio, TV, the internet — it might be the internet where we’re farthest from silliness and kitsch.

    Newspaper guys hate to admit to the popularity of the comics, talk radio has no end of silliness, and TV, TV … well wasn’t it the FCC cmmish in 1960 who called first and most famously called it a “vast wasteland”?

    The internet is where we are safest, M, but we are never completey safe anywhere: Bwaaa-ha-ha-ha!

  2. whig Says:

    I CAN HAS CHEEZBURGER? is a bit of a fad right now, across the larger blogosphere. WordPress is just a very small enclave in the larger ecosystem. People have been enjoying the cat pictures, and posting them on their blogs.

  3. whig Says:

    Fads like this come and go, some of them are very funny for awhile but get overdone and boring, at least for a few years. It’s still amusing to remind people sometimes that “all your base are belong to us.”

  4. pavlo Says:

    Regards the cats ,if you see one you’ve seen them all.Also you must be living next to a mountain since you seem to have a gravity feed water supply.Thats the best way to deliver water,I think.I hope that global warming will not dry out the supply.

  5. mklekacz Says:

    Ben, you’re probably right. And your closing comment reminds me it’s time to go play Nintendo again. . .

  6. mklekacz Says:

    Whig, you made me smile. Thanks.

    Of course it wasn’t a bit nice of me to make that post. Blogging is about whatever you want it to be about, I suppose. I just had an allergic reaction to another silly fad, I guess.

  7. mklekacz Says:

    Pavlo, I enjoy both cats and dogs, but I like them warm and wiggling, not condensed on a video screen.

    Our place runs up a ridge that divides two watersheds–the Yaquina and the Alsea. We’ve developed several springs. We’re very blessed in our house system. It seems to come from someplace very deep in the earth and the flow doesn’t vary much year round.

    Our garden system is shallower, and in the spring and summer the big trees steal a lot of it, so it requires a lot more attention to keeping the filters clean and making sure you capture as much of the seepage as you can. And yes, they’re all gravity feed, no power required.

  8. Josh Bancroft Says:

    No wai! Cats can has website, too! 😉

    Give in to the LOLCats. Learn to speak Kitty Pidgin.

    I, for one, welcome our new feline overlords.

    Ah, internet culture and its whim and whimsy.

  9. mklekacz Says:

    Josh, WordPress really hated your comment. I think it might be the links. But at least it asked me before it consigned it totally to spam.

    I think I must just be getting old and cranky, but frankly, I don’t want to learn Kitty Pidgin (or any other pidgin for that matter).

    Cheers!

  10. whitishrabbit Says:

    Heeere kitschy, kitschy, kitschy….

  11. mklekacz Says:

    Rabbit, you are really a funny lady. I think that’s one of the reasons I like you so much. Some day I hope to buy you a beer or a glass of wine or something. . .

Leave a Reply

