I need anger management classes

I have wasted the better part of three hours (not to mention a half gallon of gas in the generator. . .) uninstalling, reinstalling, disabling, reenabling, and otherwise f***ing with software on my other computer, and so far it’s no better than it was. “Uninstall” programs are mostly brain-dead, downloads sometimes work and sometimes don’t, and this is frankly making me nuts.

 I suppose it’s a good think I don’t work for the post office. Some midday gardening calmed me down a bit while making my arms very tired.

But I am generally really pissed off at the moment, and I’m tempted to just abandon the computer entirely, which would mean shutting this site down. I know people who speak with pride of not having e-mail, and the experiences of the last two days help me understand that attitude.

But I still know how to write with a pen or pencil. . .

12 Responses to “I need anger management classes”

  1. Lisa Hostick Says:

    I wonder if Ghallager (sp) owns a computer?

    I know he has a “thing” for watermelons.

  2. Brent Says:

    Maybe your registry has a few bad keys; try running a free program called CCleaner to fix. There is also a Windows Uninstaller from Microsoft if the program will not un-install.

    You can always buy a new laptop and make my stock price go up 🙂

    Brent

  3. Josh Bancroft Says:

    Sounds like it’s time to abandon Internet Explorer altogether.

    http://www.getfirefox.com/

    Try it, you’ll love it. Firefox is an amazing browser, in no small part due to the fact that it lets you avoid the many headaches that come from IE.

    Personally, I love it because of its tabbed browsing and extensions – you can find extensions to read feeds, block ads, show the weather, chat with friends, etc. The imagination is the limit, because it’s open source.

    Seriously, you should try it. All of your web sites should work fine in it. I know that WordPress works flawlessly in it. Might help avoid those costly anger management classes. 😉

    Good luck, and remember, you’ve got a fair number of geeks reading, so if you need help on something specific, post it up or email us, and we’ll help.

  4. whitishrabbit Says:

    This geek would like to politely protest the very idea of you abandoning your site.

  5. mklekacz Says:

    Lisa, I’m not sure to whom you’re referring. Do you mean the cartoonist?

    But your comment reminds me that I do have a watermelon that I need to do something with. Maybe I’ll throw it at the computer and see if that helps. ;^}

  6. mklekacz Says:

    Thanks, Josh. I downloaded (but did not install) Firefox before loading IE7 the first time. I’m not sure the trouble is with IE 7, but installing Firefox might be one way to find out.

  7. mklekacz Says:

    Hey Brent, very funny. I have a relatively new laptop that so far is working fine. It’s just my desktop that’s having a nervous breakdown.

    And anyway, you’re supposed to be making MY stock price go up, and I wish you’d get on with it.

  8. mklekacz Says:

    Rabbit, you’re always polite (well, almost always). And I wouldn’t just abandon you without establishing contact through other means. I enjoy you too much.

  9. Lisa Hostick Says:

    Ghallager is a comedian (well known in the early eighties) that came up with the sledge-o-matic. He smashed watermelons to smitherines, drenching his audiences.
    I kinda like your idea of using a watermelon in place of a sledgehammer. Nice and messy.

  10. OmbudsBen Says:

    Marianne, you have my sympathy. I won’t bore you with the story of the hard drive failure that had to be shipped back to the factory which the customer service guy in south Asia did not know the address of, as the Fed Ex truck was pulling away for the second time.

    I’m not even sure where that one would live on the list of my ten most insane-making computer failure stories; perhaps 2nd or 3rd.

    Just know you have my symathy.

  11. OmbudsBen Says:

    Marianne, you have my sympathy. I won’t bore you with the story of the hard drive failure that had to be shipped back to the factory which the customer service guy in south Asia did not know the address of, as the Fed Ex truck was pulling away for the second time.

    I’m not even sure where that one would live on the list of my ten most insane-making computer failure stories; perhaps 2nd or 3rd.

    Just know you have my sympathy.

  12. mklekacz Says:

    Lisa, a sledge-o-matic is just what I needed.

    Thanks, Be. I’ve lived through the hard drive stuff, too, although I tried to get it fixed locally, a decision that I’m not sure worked any better. Darned machines. . .

Leave a Reply

