What would I give for a cigarette at the moment?

I don’t really know. I just know it’s a very fine thing that it’s an hour’s drive to town and that I had the good sense to smoke all of those that I had before I became a non-smoker.

It’s now 8+ days without tobacco smoke.

Not without nicotine–I bought some of the lozenges when I flew back east with my brother. They kept me from going insane in airports and on planes, so I thought they might work longer term. And they seem to, although I’m not following the prescribed program of huge amounts slowly decreasing over 12 weeks. I just want to be done with this, so I started small and am getting smaller each day.

But they seem to work. So far I’ve resisted the urge to cram everything within sight into my mouth, and although I’ve occasionally been a bit pecky, I haven’t taken anyone’s head totally off yet. And I’m even sane enough to recognize when I’m being peckish and back off. Amazing.

So for the moment I’m working on trying to retrain myself. I think maybe I’m not one of those people who needs to change every habit they’ve got to quit smoking. I like my habits. I just need to learn to enjoy them without a cigarette in my hand.

So I’m doing the same old things for work breaks–sitting on the back deck laughing at the hummingbirds, slumped back in a chair under a mid-size fir by the garden, puttering around the potting bench. I’m just doing these things without tobacco and hoping that in the not too distant future, I won’t even miss it.

And when it gets too bad, a glass with a little ice, a lot of Scotch whiskey, and a sprinkling of spring water is amazingly calming. But only after 4 p.m. I have my standards, after all.

9 Responses to “What would I give for a cigarette at the moment?”

  1. Armin Says:

    Ah, Scotch Whisky (we spell that without an e over here ;-)). May be I’ll have to make that long long long trek over there one day to bring you some more.

    I don’t know if you can get it over there (although I think you should be able to), if you like the smoky peaty style the Laphroaig Quarter Cask is my favourite at the moment.

    And I’m waiting for my Bruichladdich Octomore, but it will still be a few years before I get that one. Earliest I think 2010, but quite possibly 2012 or even later. After all it was only distilled in 2002.

    Fingers crossed and congratulations for kicking the habit!

  2. Philip Ferris Says:

    Although there is whiskey too, only it’s Irish and more peaty, like that from isla or jura say.

    Oban is my favourite, unfortunately also my wife’s favourite.

  3. Philip Ferris Says:

    Oban is my favourite Scotch whisky.

  4. whitishrabbit Says:

    Way to go Marianne! 8 days, and maybe 9 by the time you get this. That’s a solid, decent start.

    Research seems to indicate that 21 days is the length of time it takes to start or break a habit so it’s ingrained into the brain. After that it gets easier.

    You’re well over a third of the way there. Keep it up! Great job!

  5. mklekacz Says:

    Thanks, Rabbit. I’ve heard that 21 day number, too, so I’m almost halfway there.

    Now to more important topics. I should have known there’d be other Scotch drinkers among the discerning folks who read this blog. Phil, Armin, I’d be hard pressed to name a favorite. My tastes shift a little with my mood. So I’m fond of both Laphroiag and Oban, but I also really enjoy Bunnahabbain (I probably butchered the spelling on that, but I don’t have a bottle to refer to at the moment) and Dalwaine/Dalwhinnie (which I suspect are the same scotch spelled differently in the UK and the US).

    Armin, it’s funny you should mention the “whiskey/whisky” thing. I just ran across that anomaly in something I was reading yesterday.

  6. S. Weasel Says:

    I just passed the 10th anniversary of my last cigarette a couple of weeks ago. I meant to blog it, but it passed and I forgot and…whatever. I had been a very heavy smoker for a very long time, and quit on the first try.

    Not having a cigarette didn’t hurt nearly as much as I expected, but it hurt for far longer. It was a long, long time before I could sit in my favorite chair, and I still don’t do it often. In fact, my capacity to sit (and concentrate) is much diminished as a ex-smoker. Alcohol does help (make mine Glenmorangie, thanks). Which is weird, considering how well booze and cigarettes go together. I assumed drink would be fatal to my hopes, but no. Coffee, surprisingly, was not a problem, either.

    Stress — especially time-related stress, like deadlines or travel — was the hardest to overcome. I still get twinges.

  7. mklekacz Says:

    Weasel–I hope I live long enough to see my tenth anniversary as a nonsmoker. I’d have to live to be 88+ to say I had been a nonsmoker more than half my life. I’ve smoked for 44 years. Started as a freshman in college when everyone told me how cool and natural I looked. . .

    I don’t think I could have done this in my old life style. Living in the city, it’s too easy to run to the closest convenience store. As it is, It’s an hour’s drive to any place I can really buy cigarettes, so I only have to be strong for the short time I’m shopping in town.

    It’s a funny thing about alcohol. Drinking in a bar always made me want a cigarette (or several), but I don’t think it’s alcohol related. I think it had more to do with the expectation of small talk (which I hate–I like big talk and monumental issues). I don’t feel the same urge having a drink at home. It’s actually relaxing, at least as long as my liver holds out.

    So far, my favorite chairand resting places are not a problem. Thank goodness.

  8. patricia Says:

    OH BOY! 21 days! THis should be the day you are shed of it for good! Are you still stick free? If so, who am I going to visit to get my annual fix of a smoke? I quit in 1990. 43 years of it and now 17 without. Did it cold turkey! Never regretted it until … maybe it’s the humidity that charges up the urge? At any rate, you ARE still clinking ice cubes, I hope….
    Loveya
    Frenchie

  9. Stop Smoking Programs Says:

    Really nice post – thanx for sharing

Leave a Reply

