Loose lips sink. . .TV producers? Laugh of the day

I’ll paraphrase this item from Tuesday’s “The Edge” column in the Oregonian. It left me rolling on the floor (although it didn’t leave me feeling safer and well cared for by Uncle S.):

A TV producer was detained for five hours by airport security at LAX after announcing he was there to “shoot a pilot.”

I am well and truly procrastinating now, with a major deadline looming for a manuscript. A dear friend just sent me one of those “answer these 30 questions so I’ll know all about you” things, and I’m even contemplating responding to it instead of continuing to gather and edit and arrange work. So far today, I’ve put away most of the laundry I did yesterday, cooked assorted meals and snacks for the two guys, found a place to store some high-tech stuff I’ve been tripping over for months and climbed the ladder to stash it, made more hummingbird food, done up a rather large quantity of dishes, read the Sunday Styles section of the NY Times (how else would I know what not to care about?), checked my summer savory seed (still not sprouted), moved a few books, and pointedly ignored the stack of poems waiting for me to say yes, no, or maybe.

I may write more later, but I’ve about run out of reasons not to do what I need to be doing. I’ve tried to think of something incredibly complicated to cook for dinner that will take me the rest of the day to assemble and prepare, but I’m drawing a blank. So I guess I’ll have to go stare at some poems.

2 Responses to “Loose lips sink. . .TV producers? Laugh of the day”

  1. jackiesgarden Says:

    Well, I don’t know how you could do any more! I’m worn out just reading about all you’ve done. 🙂

  2. mklekacz Says:

    Ah, there’s the rub, isn’t it? It’s so easy to spend the hours of our lives in the non-essential stuff (although some might certainly argue that assembling a poetry book manuscript falls into the non-essential category as well). ;^}

    But how easily our tasks expand to fill the time we have available. I’m so busy being retired that I have no idea how I ever found time to work. . .

Leave a Reply

