“Judge not, lest. . .”

I really think that’s good advice where people are concerned. I do make an effort to withhold judgement about people (although not necessarily about their behavior, as you may have gathered if you’ve been following some of the spirited discussion on this site).

But in the case of Paris Hilton, I confess I’m having a problem holding to my resolve. If she has a medical condition (the news reports hint at mental issues) that precludes her being confined in jail, let her serve her sentence in a mental hospital until she is certified competent or at least stable. I doubt that she would enjoy it, but she’s a little too old (or at least should be) to be calling for Mommy and throwing tantrums in a courtroom where it would appear she has been summoned for legitimate cause.

Another of my favorite movies is “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.”

A part of me really wants to feel sorry for her. But I’m finding it nearly impossible. My shortcoming, I’m sure.

12 Responses to ““Judge not, lest. . .””

  1. whig Says:

    I don’t even want to care. That’s how much I don’t care.

  2. whig Says:

    Something I do care about, though: What happened to Alissa’s blog?

  3. mklekacz Says:

    I don’t know what happened to the blog, but she says she’ll be in touch, so I expect we’ll know one of these days. I do know that when I found it not there today, I felt distressed. Alissa has become a friend.

    As for Ms. Hilton, I just find the whole thing a huge waste, and it makes me sad.

  4. whig Says:

    ā€œI am Paris Hilton,ā€ says Jon Swift.

  5. mklekacz Says:

    Thanks for the link. Very funny guy.

    I finally figured out what’s bothering me. It just feels like such a waste.

    Someone who has all of those advantages should be more together. Or maybe you’re never together at that age. But I can’t help wondering if she only got her mother’s attention by being in trouble and needing help. If so, too bad for all involved.

  6. MoskerVenice Says:

    This reads even better if you remind yourself the author is British, and supply the accent in your head.

    http://www.slate.com/id/2168128/

    As for my take on her situation, I’ve spent two years obsessing about the power of money as a cudgel (my MFA manuscript’s main character is a quadriplegic billionaire) and I truly feel sorry for any civil servant who is in any way responsible for her safety/containment/whatever.

  7. mklekacz Says:

    Dave, what a great link. Thanks for sharing it.

    I have little sympathy for Paris Hilton. I still feel very sorry for her.

  8. wildiris Says:

    I think it would do Paris good to talk to the other people in jail and get a handle on what they’ve been given in life to compare with what she’s been given — and count her blessings. A little dose of the real world, if she lets down her resistance to it, would do her a world of good. I have the same mixed feelings, in my case no sympathy and still a lot of empathy. Paris, do something with your life! Don’t piss it away.

  9. whig Says:

    Wildiris, I agree with what you say.

  10. whig Says:

    It is necessary for people with addictions to hit bottom if it is destructive, in order for them to say that it is destructive and so to stop.

  11. whig Says:

    I believe that Paris Hilton will be well protected by the sheriff, she will not be raped or subjected to the kinds of deprivation that prisoners might who weren’t so well known.

  12. whig Says:

    Bottom in this case could be having to consort with the lower classes. Ha.

    Anyone can be transformed in an instant. And it is necessary to the growth of the whole society that the highest and the lowest mix sometimes, and bring about the understanding of the causes and consequences of things.

Leave a Reply

