Today’s tally

Today I did not make sauerkraut as planned. Ralph showed up at the door early this morning witha humongous quantity of pie cherries that he had just picked. I think he liked the pie. I certainly did.

So tonight I have 5 pints of blueberries, three quart of Royal Annes, and three quarts of pie cherries freshly packed and sealed in glass jars.

Sauerkraut tomorrow. Tonight I’m wiped out.

But today was very special. While Ralph was down picking pie cherries, a happening I knew nothing about and would have put an instant stop to, I was watering and working in the garden. Two great blue herons flew right over head, higher than I’ve ever seen them, and the first time I’ve seen two together. I think it must have been a mating flight. They were headed for the top of Big Creek, and it was truly amazing. Then I started noticing that all of the birds I saw were in pairs.

It must be summer.

8 Responses to “Today’s tally”

  1. ombudsben Says:

    I’ve seen three heron rookeries: one on an island in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area in northern Minnesota, one on an island in Golden Gate Park, and one in a fenced off section of a housing development on a peninsula not far from us. I think the neighbors guard their privacy.

    Herons like to nest together — you see these big masses of sticks up in tall trees, and the gangly birds, with young’uns like punkrockers.

    There is another way to spot them. The ground underneath is splotched white. It kills off the undergrowth, and the birds often kill off the trees, too.

    Maybe you have a rookery nearby?

  2. Moonjelly Says:

    Hmm, I don’t think so. Our great blues are generally pretty solitary birds that nest in some very odd places. I once saw a nest in a reedy pond in the middle of golf course, and every time a ball landed in the pond, the heron would fly up squawking and complaining. Not sure I blame her.

    But I’m certainly not an expert; I just love watching them.

  3. wildiris Says:

    I love great blue herons. We have them here, too, and they’re majestic birds. Where I used to work, which was near the water, I would now and then come upon one standing on the ground. They let me approach within ten feet or so (as I walked past on a sidewalk), and reminded me of gaunt, wise old men.

    Mm, cherry pie.

  4. Moonjelly Says:

    Iris, you’re right of course. There’s something about their dignity. . .

  5. jackiesgarden Says:

    I don’t know when you find time to blog – with all the produce you put up! But I’m sure glad you do, love to visit here.
    I don’t love the blue heron so much…they come take the koi out of my pond. Now I do like to look at them, especially when they fly, as I think they look so prehistoric. But I like to see them going – not coming.

  6. Moonjelly Says:

    Jackie, I always wanted a koi pond, probably a holdover from loving my grandmother’s above-the-ground fish pond, big thing built out of stones in the middle of an evergreen stand, in Redding, California, when I was a kid. But here it would just be an invitation not only to herons but to raccoons and other undesirable creatures, so I’ve let that one go.

  7. jackiesgarden Says:

    MJ – our koi pond is right in the front yard, which isn’t fenced like the garden is – and we have deer, raccoons, and coyotes among our undesirable creaatures. The secret is….it’s 3-1/2 feet deep at the deepest end, and we have two motion detector sprinklers set up. The koi can go to the deep end and be safe from raccoons – those little buggers can swim, but don’t want to. They usually only eat the fish when they can wade in and ‘scoop’ them up. The motion detector sprinklers were a little spendy….but for three years now I’ve even been able to have tulips in the front yard! If there is any movement toward the yard, the oscillating sprinklers shoot out hard and fast.

  8. Marianne Says:

    Jackie, it sounds wonderful. I’m sure it’s one of those things that will remain on my wish list forever, especially since several times a year I have salmon or steelhead to watch in the river. I can hear Ben now: “A fish pond? Are you nuts? Don’t we have enough mosquitoes?” And yes, I know that the fish would eat the larva, but I think it’s one of those things that’s better in the dreaming than the execution. But I loved, hearing about yours.

Leave a Reply

