Icepacks and ibuprofen

Barbara wrote to commend me on my bravery. There is absolutely no truth to that whatsoever. But icepacks and ibuprofen have worked wonders on my wrenched knee, so I’m getting around pretty well again, can even come upstairs to my office to blog. My ribs are still incredibly sore, but the ibuprofen helps, and I think the only other remedy is time. I even got very brave and barbecued again last night. It was far too hot to light the wood stove.

I made a test run to Corvallis today, spent a small fortune at a couple of stores, managed to get around OK and restock some needed supplies. I also bought fresh halibut filets and shrimp, so it’s barbecue again tonight. Ben and Ralph would do some of this stuff for me, but I do it so much better than either of them that I’d just as soon go myself.

The garden is going nuts, which is part of why I can’t be laid up. Yesterday we harvested cauliflower, cabbage, lettuce, the first tomato, the first long cucumber, and the first zucchini. The patty pan squash is only a day or two away, the first beans no more than a week. And of course, the berries didn’t hear there was no one to can them, so they continue to go wild, too.

I’m once again my own worst enemy. But I found today at the grocery store a large and very healthy trumpet vine. My grandmother had a huge one very near her fishpond, and I’ve always wanted one. I bought this one and I think I’ll put it in the corner of the garden. I’d love to have it near the house, but we have very few spots with enough sun around the house, and the few we have Ben keeps threatening to build a porch on, so I’m not supposed to plant there.

I also found a couple of woodland orchids. These are very beautiful and need shade and moisture, which is a perfect description of the spring overflow garden where I’ve planted mostly Japaness and Siberian irises and several kinds of hostas and hellebores. So I bought the last two they had, and as soon as I can climb the bank, they’ll be taking up residence there. They are a brilliant light purple in color, and it was love at first sight. The slugs may love them, too, but I’m going to chance it.

It’s a lovely summer day here, 70 degrees or so, intermittent clounds, but mostly very pleasant. So I think I’m going to quit this and go outside for a little while.

4 Responses to “Icepacks and ibuprofen”

  1. jennylitchfield Says:

    Your description of your lovely summer day is an antidote – took my mind away from our post-storm, rain sodden day here. Reminded me of my plan to plant similar irises. Add some enjoyment of that pleasant outside place for us downunder.

  2. jackiesgarden Says:

    Glad you’re getting around a little better. You get more done while you are laid up – than most people I know do – when there is nothing wrong with them!

    Someone (can’t remember who) posted a pic of the trumpet vine – now I want one, too!

  3. Barbara Says:

    Ice is a miracle cure whenever I have back troubles or my tendonitis kicks in. I’m glad you were able to get so much done. That garden must be a joy this time of year.

  4. Marianne Says:

    Jenny, we’re coming full swing into the heat of summer here. I have some cornstalks that have started four ears each!!! The heat is coming on, and as long as I can keep enough water on it, we’re going to eat good corn big time this year.

    Jackie, my trumpet vine is now planted in the corner of the garden near the pickling cucumbers where it will get lots of heat. If I live long enough for it to get as big as my grandmother’s was, I’ll probably be cursing it for shading something out. Or maybe not. They attract so many birds and pollinators that I think it deserves a spot in the garden. It’s budding out, so maybe pictures before too long.

    Barbara, I found these miracle instant ice packs (you throw them on the floor and stomp on them and in about 30 seconds you’ve got this thing that you can apply to any area as needed). They don’t leak or bloom with frost, and if you’re as stingy as I am, you can throw them in the freezer or refrigerator and re-chill them for reuse. A case of them arrived today, courtesy of our niece.

Leave a Reply

