Chilly, and chili (no Chile, or maybe just a little)

The subject line I just typed in reminds me of my current recent episode of insanity. Ben and I between us are trying to shore up the U.S. economy with a spate of consumer buying. Here is my most recent excursion, but probably not the last tonight. Later on we’ll be logging into Cabela’s Web site, which is probably going to be very expensive.

A couple of days ago, I ordered the full 20-volume Oxford English Dictionary. I’ve coveted this for years. I have a real fetish for dictionaries, I think, that matches my fetish and focus on words. It’s not a minor purchase. Each time I’ve been on the verge of buying it, I thought, “Well, perhaps next week.”

But right now it’s on sale. I’ve never seen it on sale before. The price is 15% below what I’ve ever seen, and the sale price includes the CD version with full search capacity. I don’t want to be limited to that. I want the print version. But I’m curious to see if they have actually used hyperlinking and other modern innovations to provide more robust capabilities.

I’ll soon know, I guess.

It’s coming by UPS. We have an agreement with UPS to leave packages on the neighbor’s porch, since our gate is always locked. I can’t wait to hear Kenny’s call when he discovers boxes weighing 150 lbs. on his doorstep.

The post office has called nearly every day this week to let me know they have a box “too big for the mailbox.” I really appreciate the heads-up. It lets one of us be down to greet Betty when she arrives instead of having the package sit beside the county road until someone thinks to check the mail.

We awoke this morning to a skiff of snow on the ground. It was lovely. Most of it melted by noon, which is a perfect snow day. What I’d really like is to awake to six inches of snow, go out and play in it, and have it all gone by the end of the day. But that isn’t how things work.

The wind is picking up, as is the rain. So perhaps the promised hurricane is going to materialize too. I took down the doorbell tonight (a hanging clanger powered by a scultured maple leaf) so we wouldn’t have to listen to the wind knocking at the door all night. It will stay down until the storm passes.

So, it was chilly all day. Now I have a big pot of chili on the stove, with cornbread soon to follow in the oven. I’m slowly assembling the topping mix for a batch of olive crostini for tomorrow’s hors d’ouevre potluck at Donna’s house.

The only thing I can tell you about Chile at this moment is how much I love most of the works of Isabel Allende. What a fine writer.

But the chili is a bribe. Ralph’s hooking up the Wii tonight.

8 Responses to “Chilly, and chili (no Chile, or maybe just a little)”

  1. MoskerVenice Says:

    Wow. That is so tempting. But I’ve got books, comics, magazines papers spread everywhere as is. Might be motivation to really organize. Nah. Just drool.

    Is the sale already over? If so your timing is doubly impressive: Today’s LA Times has a cover story on just how far the dollar has fallen against the pound.

  2. Marianne Says:

    David, the OED is still on sale. I saw some comments about waiting for the 3rd edition, but according to the OED folks, the scheduled release date on that version is 2018.

    I’m not sure I’ll still be alive then, and if I am, I have no idea about whether my eyes will be able to decipher the print. QED: I’m buying the second edition.

    I too have stuff lurking everywhere. But the drool is getting slippery here, so it’s time to act. And I have acted. . .

  3. ingernet Says:

    is it safe to assume that it’s the Wii, and not the dictionary, that has caused the notable lack of posts in the last 5 days?

    the audience is listening! [taps foot, looks at watch]

    xo
    ik

  4. Marianne Says:

    Inger, it’s never safe to assume anything.

    I have a daughter who volunteered me to make a bunch of pies for the family gathering this weekend. They’re made, but it’s left little time for anything else, including the wreath you’re expecting, which is too bad, since the wreath I made for me is one of the prettiest I’ve ever seen, $100 easily from Lands End.

    This business of being retired is very hard work.

    Hugs,
    Mom

  5. pat lucas Says:

    Marianne: Please send me your email address. My computer went down and I lost all my friends! Poor me.
    It is raining here in southern Arizona (a phenom almost like your snow in OR) BTW What is that bright “star” hanging out with the moon these days? Lovepat

  6. Marianne Says:

    Pat, the star is probably Venus, but Mars is also getting fairly bright. Is it reddish or blue-white?

    Saw the ad for your book in The Christian Science Monitor. Looked good.

  7. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  8. Marianne Says:

    Idetrorce,

    Since you don’t say what you didn’t agree with, it’s difficult to respond. . .

Leave a Reply

