And then there’s Geraldine Ferraro

What a blithering idiot!

I’m sure she’s still smarting over the allegation that her selection as Mondale’s running mate was due to her gender and his wanting to pander to women. (I suspect, by the way that this allegation has a certain ring of truth.)

But her remarks about Obama were so far outside the acceptable limits of politics that she should be pilloried and sent off in disgrace.

It’s interesting to me that when one of Obama’s campaign staff called Clinton “a monster,” she abruptly left the campaign. After Ferraro’s remarks, Clinton said merely that she didn’t agree. Ferraro can’t seem to understand what all the fuss is about.

Clinton is a fierce campaigner, but her propensity for letting her staffers say completely unacceptable things and then just shrugging them off is one of the reasons I will never trust her (there are plenty of others). It feels to me like a deliberate campaign strategy to play dirty while keeping the mud off one’s own hands.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “And then there’s Geraldine Ferraro”

  1. leafless Says:

    We can’t hold a candidate for something one of their supporters said. I do not hold Obama responsible for the racist and derogatory comments that Pastor White made. I think you shouldn’t hold Clinton for the comment Ferrero made.

  2. Marianne Says:

    Leafless, I understand your point, and I’m not in disagreement.

    However, I think there is here what a prosecutor might call a “pattern of behavior.”

    I’d like to be more generous toward Clinton, but alas, I’m old enough to remember the financial records that were missing for so long and after months turned up (gasp!) on a coffee table at the White House.

    This predisposes me, I must admit, to a certain lack of trust.

  3. Barbara Says:

    They used to say military service separated the men from the boys. (Back when it was mostly men/boys.) I think this election is separating the feminists from the rabid feminists. 😉

  4. Marianne Says:

    Barbara, you gave me my first real smile today. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

